Sweet Brioche

French egg bread!

Matt ate three of these – they were bun sized rolls…. I think he liked them!

Like I said - not great at making baked goods look pretty. Tastes great though!

Like I said – not great at making baked goods look pretty. Tastes great though!

Sweet Brioche

  • 2 cups flour (you may need more when shaping)
  • 1 little packet of yeast
  • Sprinkling salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 stick butter, cold and diced
  • 1 egg + 1 yolk
  • 1/4 cup milk (or sweetened coffee creamer – like I did here, it made it super tasty)
  • 1/7 cup water
  • 1 egg yolk + 1 tbsp milk/creamer

Mix together dry ingredients. Cut in the butter cubes and egg + yolk – I use my hands for this. Once the mixture makes little clumps when you press it together with your fingers and all of the butter chunks have been worked out, add the milk and water and work the dough until it is smoothish. The dough will be sticky!! Next, I rolled the dough out on a nonstick surface and divided it into eighths. I made these into balls but a loaf would be splendid here (baking time would be longer). Let this rise for 3ish hours – covered.

Now, once the dough balls are about doubled in size, deflate them, reshape them, and then let them rise for another 1.5 hours on a prepared baking sheet.

When time is up preheat the oven to 380° F on convection (or 400° F on bake). Whisk the extra egg yolk with the milk/creamer and brush over the buns. I sprinkled cinnamon on one of them to try it and it tasted like a dessert – but leave them plain if you want to use them for other purposes. Pop the buns in the oven for 14-15 minutes. For a loaf it would be more like 25 minutes. Eat immediately and experience tummy ecstasy.

Leave a comment